AEO · By Aidan Shaw · 13 min read

AEO Tool Feature Comparison (2026): Cadence, Multi-Brand, Competitor Tracking, APIs

Published September 18, 2026
Part of our complete guide: The 5 Best AEO Tools in 2026: Trackers, Software, and Platforms
The short answer

Most AEO trackers update daily on a fixed schedule: Peec AI, Otterly.ai, Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, HubSpot AEO, and Profound (on Enterprise) all run prompts every day. Only 2 of the 9 tools we compared let you configure the frequency yourself: Ahrefs Brand Radar and Rankshift. For multi-brand work, Otterly (unlimited workspaces on Standard and up), Rankshift (unlimited projects on all paid tiers), and Peec's agency credit plans are the cleanest fits, while HubSpot AEO is limited to one owned domain and Semrush prices per domain. Every tool tracks competitors in some form, but almost none publish numeric caps. API or MCP access ranges from all-tiers (Peec MCP, Otterly, Rankshift) to Enterprise-gated (Profound, Peec's REST API) to absent (HubSpot AEO, Semrush's toolkit). Where a vendor does not publish a spec, our matrix says so.

The short answer

If your buying question is "which AEO tracker updates daily," the answer is most of them: Peec AI, Otterly.ai, Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, and HubSpot AEO run prompts daily on standard plans, and Profound does on Enterprise. If the question is "which one lets me control the schedule," the list collapses to two: Ahrefs Brand Radar and Rankshift. Multi-brand work points at Otterly, Rankshift, or Peec's agency plans. API access without an enterprise contract points at Ahrefs, Rankshift, or Otterly.

This piece is a feature matrix, not a ranking. For the overall buying decision, start with our guide to the best AEO tools; for what these platforms cost, see our AEO tools pricing guide. A method note: we run Peec AI daily on our own client tracking, so those observations are hands-on. Every other vendor's specs come from research on their live pricing and documentation pages, verified September 2026, and where a vendor publishes no number we write "not published" rather than guessing. That gap is information too: it usually means "ask sales."

The master feature matrix

Nine tools, six dimensions, all vendor-published specs as of September 2026.

Tool Update cadence Multi-brand Competitor tracking Prompt allowance API / MCP / Looker Free trial
Peec AI Daily (Enterprise: daily or weekly) 1 to 5 projects by tier; agency credit plans Auto-suggest + manual; no cap published 50 / 150 / 350 by tier MCP all tiers; Looker on Advanced+; API Enterprise only Reported 7 days; not on vendor page
Profound Daily on Enterprise; trial runs once Enterprise: unlimited projects Yes; limits not published Trial: 10 prompts, run once; Enterprise custom REST API + SDKs + MCP, Enterprise-gated; CSV/JSON Free trial plan, ChatGPT only
Otterly.ai Daily, fixed Unlimited workspaces on Standard+ "Me + Top 5" and "Me + all" views; caps not published 15 / 100 / 400; +100 for $99/mo API + MCP (2,000 to 5,000 req/mo); Looker on Standard+ Free, roughly a week, no card
Scrunch AI Not published Multi-site/multi-client advertised; mechanics not published Yes; no cap published 350 or 700 custom + 1,000 or 2,500 industry Query + Responses APIs; scheduled email alerts; Data API Enterprise 7 days, no card
Ahrefs Brand Radar Configurable: daily, weekly, monthly 5 to 50 projects by base plan; ad hoc brand analysis Auto-detect + manual; no caps published 83/day within 2,500 checks/mo (index plan) Brand Radar API + Looker connector Free checker tool only
Semrush AI Toolkit Daily Priced per domain, $99 each Yes; caps not published 25 custom prompts 10 CSV exports/day; no toolkit API or MCP None toolkit-specific
HubSpot AEO Daily One owned domain; Brands add-on for more Competitors addable; no cap published 25 daily (50 on MH Enterprise) Native dashboards only; no published API or CSV 28 days
AthenaHQ Not published Not published Unlimited competitor tracking Credit-based: 300 free, 3,600/mo on Starter CSV on Starter+; API is a paid add-on Free tier instead of a trial
Rankshift Configurable: multi-daily to monthly Unlimited projects and seats, all paid tiers Yes, with citation analytics; no caps published 150 / 350 / 850 per day by tier MCP + REST API + Looker (tier gating unclear) 30 days, no card

The sections below take each column one at a time.

Which AEO tools update daily (and which let you choose)

Verdict: daily is the category default, but only Ahrefs Brand Radar and Rankshift let you configure the schedule yourself.

Peec runs every tracked prompt daily; we see fresh runs in our client dashboards each morning, and Enterprise accounts can drop to weekly. Otterly's own wording is that prompts are "automatically monitored daily across all AI search engines available in your account," with no frequency setting. Semrush tracks its 25 custom prompts daily with daily, weekly, and monthly data views. HubSpot AEO runs its prompt set daily across its three engines. Profound runs daily on Enterprise, while its free trial runs your 10 prompts exactly once, a snapshot rather than a tracker.

The two configurable options differ from each other. Ahrefs Brand Radar custom prompts can be scheduled daily, weekly, or monthly, and the frequency matters because it burns your monthly check allowance at different rates. Rankshift's published wording is "multiple times a day, a few times a week, or once a month," the widest cadence range in the category and the only sub-daily option anyone publishes.

Two vendors publish no cadence. Scrunch AI does not state how often prompts run; third-party reviews report daily runs for the first 14 days and every 3 days after that, but that is their claim, not Scrunch's. AthenaHQ likewise publishes no update frequency. If cadence is a hard requirement, put both on the ask-sales list.

Update cadence: who runs daily, who lets you choose (2026) Fixed daily schedule Peec AI Otterly.ai Semrush Toolkit HubSpot AEO Profound (Enterprise) Configurable frequency Ahrefs Brand Radar custom prompts: daily / weekly / monthly Rankshift multiple times a day, a few times a week, or once a month Cadence not published Scrunch AI AthenaHQ Vendor-published specs, September 2026. Profound's free trial runs prompts once; Ahrefs index freshness varies by platform.
Update cadence across 9 AEO tools, September 2026. Five run on a fixed daily schedule, two publish a configurable frequency, and two publish no cadence at all. Only vendor-stated specs are shown.

One nuance on Ahrefs: the configurable schedule applies to your custom prompts. The underlying AI Visibility Index refreshes on its own rhythm, AI chatbot data roughly monthly and AI Overviews every few days, so the two data layers move at different speeds.

2 of 9
AEO tools that publish a configurable update frequency (Ahrefs Brand Radar and Rankshift). The other seven either run a fixed daily schedule or do not publish a cadence at all, so "can I change how often prompts run" is a genuine differentiator, not a checkbox.
Source: AEO Labs review of vendor pricing and documentation pages, September 2026

Which AEO platforms support multi-brand tracking

Verdict: Otterly.ai and Rankshift are the most generous on paper, Peec's agency plans are the most agency-shaped in practice, and HubSpot AEO is the most restrictive.

The unit of multi-brand work differs by platform:

If you run a client roster, our deeper dive on AEO tools for agencies covers how these models hold up in practice.

Which AEO tools track competitor mentions separately

Verdict: everyone claims competitor tracking; almost no one publishes limits. The differences are in mechanics.

All nine tools track competitor visibility in some form, so the checkbox alone will not narrow your shortlist. What varies is how competitors get into the system:

A tip from our own tracking: competitor mention counts matter less than competitor citation sources. Knowing a rival appears often is trivia; knowing which third-party pages put them there is a to-do list.

How prompt limits compare

Verdict: allowances range from 15 prompts to 850 per day, and three vendors meter by credits or checks instead, so normalize before you compare.

Published allowances, September 2026:

Tool Published allowance Metering unit
Otterly.ai 15 / 100 / 400 by tier; +100 for $99/mo Prompts, shared across workspaces
Semrush AI Toolkit 25 custom prompts Prompts per domain
HubSpot AEO 25 run daily (50 on MH Enterprise) Prompts; add-on for more, price not published
Peec AI 50 / 150 / 350 by tier Prompts (agency: credits, 10k to 65k)
Ahrefs Brand Radar 83 per day within 2,500 checks/mo Checks; add-on packages from $50/mo
Rankshift 150 / 350 / 850 per day Prompts per day plus credits
Scrunch AI 350 or 700 custom Prompts, plus 1,000 or 2,500 industry prompts
AthenaHQ 300 credits free; 3,600/mo Starter Credits, 1 credit = 1 AI response
Profound Trial: 10 prompts, run once; Enterprise custom Not published beyond trial

The trap is that a "prompt" is not one thing. On Peec's agency plans, one prompt on one model for one day is one credit, so a prompt set costs three times the credits across three models. Ahrefs meters in checks, consumed at different rates per platform (Claude costs 8 checks per update). HubSpot states the multiplication openly: 25 prompts daily across 3 engines is 2,500 answers a month. Multiply out prompts times engines times frequency for your actual setup, or the cheapest-looking plan will not be.

Vendors also sell headroom as a priced feature: Otterly sells +100 prompts for $99/mo on Standard and Premium, Ahrefs sells check packages at $50, $100, and $250/mo (which require a paid Ahrefs base plan), and HubSpot sells an answers-limit increase without publishing its price.

Which AEO tools offer API, MCP, or Looker Studio access

Verdict: Ahrefs Brand Radar and Rankshift give you API plus Looker Studio without an enterprise contract, Otterly publishes the clearest quotas, and HubSpot and Semrush's toolkit give you effectively nothing programmatic.

If this column is about wiring tracking data into reports and alerts, that workflow has its own guide: AEO automation platforms.

Free trials, quickly

Rankshift publishes the longest trial, 30 days with no card. HubSpot AEO gives 28 days. Otterly.ai offers roughly a week free with no card, Scrunch AI a 7-day Starter trial, no card. Profound's free trial plan runs 10 prompts once, on ChatGPT only: enough to see the interface but not the tracking. AthenaHQ replaces the trial with a free tier (300 credits, 5 platforms). Ahrefs offers a free AI Visibility Checker preview rather than a product trial, Semrush publishes no toolkit-specific trial, and Peec's 7-day trial is reported by third parties but not stated on its own pricing page, so treat it as unconfirmed.

Key takeaways

Match the matrix to your actual job

Feature matrices answer constraint questions; they do not make the buying decision. Once you know which tools clear your hard requirements, the ranking lives in our best AEO tools guide, the pure tracking angle in best AEO rank trackers, and the procurement-grade end of the market in enterprise AEO tools. Costs get their own treatment in the AEO tools pricing guide.

And if you want the hardest constraint decided for you, an AI visibility audit from AEO Labs baselines your citation share first, then tells you which tool, tier, and prompt set your program actually needs. We scope one for every client we onboard, which is why this matrix exists in the first place.

Frequently asked questions

Which AEO tools update rankings daily?

As of September 2026, Peec AI, Otterly.ai, Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, and HubSpot AEO all run tracked prompts daily on their standard plans, and Profound runs daily prompt tracking on its Enterprise plan. Ahrefs Brand Radar and Rankshift go further by letting you configure the frequency: Ahrefs custom prompts can run daily, weekly, or monthly, and Rankshift offers multiple times a day down to once a month. Scrunch AI and AthenaHQ do not publish an update cadence.

Can I track multiple brands in one AEO account?

Yes, on most platforms, but the mechanics differ. Otterly.ai gives unlimited workspaces from its Standard plan up, with prompts shared across them. Rankshift includes unlimited projects on all paid tiers. Peec AI includes 1, 2, or 5 projects by tier plus credit-based agency plans built for multi-client work. Ahrefs Brand Radar base plans include 5 to 50 projects and allow ad hoc analysis of any brand. Semrush prices per domain at $99 each, and HubSpot AEO covers one owned domain unless you buy its Brands add-on.

Which AEO tools track competitor mentions separately?

All nine tools we compared offer some form of competitor tracking, but published limits are rare. Peec AI auto-suggests competitors after two co-mentions and lets you add them manually. Otterly.ai has dedicated views for you plus your top 5 competitors or all competitors. Ahrefs Brand Radar auto-detects competitors and supports manual additions. AthenaHQ includes unlimited competitor tracking from its Starter plan. Profound, Scrunch, HubSpot, Semrush, and Rankshift all track competitors but do not publish numeric caps.

Which AEO tools have API access?

Ahrefs Brand Radar and Rankshift publish APIs without an enterprise gate, and both also offer Looker Studio connectors. Otterly.ai includes API and MCP access with quotas of 2,000 requests per month on Standard and 5,000 on Premium. Peec AI offers MCP access on all tiers but gates its REST API to Enterprise. Profound's REST API, SDKs, and hosted MCP server are Enterprise-gated. Scrunch AI publishes a Query API and Responses API, with its Enterprise Data API reserved for Enterprise. HubSpot AEO and the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit publish no tool-specific API.

How many prompts can I track in each AEO tool?

Published allowances as of September 2026: Peec AI 50 to 350 prompts by tier, Otterly.ai 15 to 400 with a $99/mo add-on for 100 more, Scrunch AI 350 to 700 custom prompts plus 1,000 to 2,500 industry prompts, Semrush 25 custom prompts, HubSpot AEO 25 prompts run daily (50 on Marketing Hub Enterprise), Ahrefs Brand Radar 83 prompts per day within 2,500 monthly checks on its index plan, and Rankshift 150 to 850 prompts per day by tier. Profound's free trial runs 10 prompts once; its enterprise limits are custom. AthenaHQ meters by credits, where 1 credit equals 1 AI response.

Which AEO tools offer a free trial?

Rankshift offers the longest published trial at 30 days with no card required. HubSpot AEO offers 28 days. Otterly.ai and Scrunch AI both offer free trials of roughly a week with no card. Profound's entry point is a free trial plan that runs 10 prompts once on ChatGPT only. AthenaHQ skips the trial model entirely with a free tier that includes 300 credits. Ahrefs offers a free AI Visibility Checker preview tool but no paid-product trial, Semrush publishes no toolkit-specific trial, and Peec AI's trial is reported by third parties at 7 days but is not stated on its own site.

Which AEO tool lets me choose the update frequency?

Only two of the nine major AEO tools publish a configurable cadence. Ahrefs Brand Radar lets you set custom prompts to run daily, weekly, or monthly, with check consumption scaling accordingly. Rankshift lets you schedule tracking multiple times a day, a few times a week, or once a month. Every other tool either runs on a fixed daily schedule or does not publish its cadence at all.

See where you stand in AI search

Free audit. No commitment.

Book a call

Keep reading